Get Online or Remote Help!
Need help getting started with your research? Citation assistance? Having trouble logging in from off-campus? Ask us!
- You can email us: email@example.com
- Chat with library staff
- Make an appointment with a librarian for a one-on-one research session via online call (Zoom)
- Text a librarian: 405-638-3465
- Give us a call: 405-585-4500
Online Materials & Tools
- Zip Bang Search (All Resources)
- Use the filters on the left-hand side to limit your results to books, academic journals, full-text and more.
- We have many databases that can fit your specific research needs from ATLA Religion to CINAHL Nursing Database.
- Journal/Article Index
- If you are looking for a specific journal title, search here.
- Search our subscription to over 45,000 Ebooks
- Pioneer Library System
- OBU students and employees are eligible for access to the Pioneer Library System resources. Sign up for an e-library card using this link for instant access to digital resources.
- Metropolitan Library System
- Sign up for an e-library card number via this link using your OBU Box/Shawnee address. The e-card can be used immediately to access all of the Metropolitan Library System digital materials and databases (including the full text of The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal). Here's a screenshare video to show you how to view their databases once you've created an e-card: https://screencast-o-matic.com/watch/cYeDbNxk1u
- Google Books
- Search for titles not held by our library. Many times they will offer a preview and allow you to search for keywords within a book.
- GPO (U.S. Government Publishing Office)
- Catalog of US Government Documents
- Archives & Special Collections Digital Collections
- Search the digitized items in the OBU Archives and Gaskin Archives.
- National Emergency Library
- A collection of books from archive.org that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.
We will continue fulfilling Interlibrary Loan digital article requests at this time. Interlibrary Loan physical items will not be available for pick up while we are closed to the public. Please contact the ILL department if you have any questions (firstname.lastname@example.org).
Library books and media, including Interlibrary Loan materials, can be returned to our book drop at the front entrance of the library or to the book drop on the back of the building off of MacArthur Street. We do not expect or ask anyone to make a special trip to return these items during this uncertain time. All overdue items and fines will be taken care of and cleared upon the return of the items when in-person classes resume.
These print materials are housed at the front desk of the library. If the library is closed to the public, these will not be accessible. It is recommended to utilize the online resources (listed above) if possible during this time. We are developing a LibGuide with a list of ebooks related to similar topics.