Special CollectionsUniversity Archives
Collection DevelopmentCirculation PoliciesCopyright PolicyCurriculum Library
ReferenceInterlibrary LoanMedia ServicesCurriculum LibraryGovernment DocumentsStaff Information
This is the "Home" page of the "The Mabee Learning Center" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Mabee Learning Center  

Last Updated: Sep 19, 2014 URL: http://okbu.libguides.com/mainguide Print Guide Email Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Connect with the MLC

JavaScript disabled. Please email us at refdesk@okbu.edu for assistance.

Main Library

Mon - Thurs 8:00am - 5:00pm
Friday 8:00am - 5:00pm
Saturday Closed
Sunday Closed


Media Center

Mon - Thurs  8:00am - 10:00pm
Friday 8:00am - 5:00pm
Saturday 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Sunday 7:00pm - 10:00pm


Curriculum Library

Mon - Thurs 9:00am - 5:00pm
Friday 9:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday Closed
Sunday Closed


Special Collections

Mon - Fri     9:00am - 12:00pm
1:00am - 5:00pm
Saturday Closed
Sunday Closed

Reference

Circulation

Curriculum

Dean's Office

Interlibrary Loan

Media Services

Serials/Government Documents

Technical Services

University Archives

To access the library databases, students will need the following information:

Username:  Student ID#

Password:  Student ID# + 6 digit birth date (MMDDYY)

Students enrolled before Fall 2014 will use the following method:

Username:  Student ID#

Password:   Student ID# + the last 4 digits of your Social Security Number (SSN)

*If your Student ID# only has 6 digits, add a 0 at the front.

 *If you are without a SSN, use 4 zeros instead.

On-campus guests will need to visit a library service desk to aquire a guest login.

Student Resources

  • Moodlerooms
    Submit assignments, view course syllabi, assignment descriptions and view media for the World Civilization courses.
  • JupiterGrades
    Access current grades for class assignments and shared files from professors.
  • Self-Service Banner
    Provides students access to information about courses, enrollment and payments.
  • Millburn Student Success Center
    Offers help with writing assignments and tutoring in core subjects as well as mathematics, chemistry, physics, accounting and economics.
 

Welcome to the Mabee Learning Center

open book

Zip! Bang! Search!
Limit Your Results

 

Welcome! Whether you are a seasoned library user or just learning about research, the library staff are here to help you find what you need. Below are links to a few of our most popular resources, but if you ever have trouble finding what you need, you are always welcome to chat with us in person or online (see the chat box on the top left side of the page), email (refdesk@okbu.edu) or call any library department. We are here to serve you!

Getting Started

  • Zip! Bang! Search
    Unsure of where to begin your research? Try the new integrated Zip! Bang! Search. It searches all of the library databases and book catalog at the same time.
  • OBU Journals ONLINE
    A browseable and searchable alphabetical list of all the journals for which OBU has online access.
  • WorldCat
    Find books and articles housed in the MLC and databases as well as request books and articles from other libraries.
  • Academic Search Complete
    This full text general subject database is frequently used by students in English Composition, anthropology and psychology.
  • ATLA Religion with ATLA Serials  
      
    This database contains on journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion in major religion and theology journals. Helpful for students in Bible & religion classes.
  • CINAHL with Full Text
    Best resource for nursing and allied health journals. Provides full text to over 600 journals and indexing and abstracting to 2900 journals in nursing and allied health. Essential for nursing majors.
  • JSTOR: Scholarly Journal Archive
    JSTOR currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals, along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education. Useful for history and English majors as well as students enrolled in the Western Civilization courses.
  • PsycARTICLES
    PsychARTICLES provides articles from over 60 journals. Coverage extends to beginning of nearly all the journals, back to 1894. Excellent for psychology and sociology majors.
  • SPORTDiscus with Full Text
    Comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine. Full text for more than 490 journals, (337 of these are unique to this database). Full-text coverage dating back to 1985 with no embargo. Useful for those majoring in kinesiology or nursing.

Useful Guides

Academic Apps for Bison
by Paul Roberts - Last Updated Jun 24, 2014
From Awesome Note to Zotero, this guide describes all the best apps for productivity, reading, research, note-taking, writing and presenting.
59 views this year
Copyright and Fair Use: A Concise Introduction
by Paul Roberts - Last Updated Aug 6, 2014
A brief introduction to matters of copyright and fair use exemptions in an academic setting
84 views this year
Guide to Subjects and Book Locations
by Paul Roberts - Last Updated Jun 24, 2014
A guide to assist in associating subject areas and book locations by call number.
128 views this year
Zotero! The free citation manager
by Paul Roberts - Last Updated Mar 1, 2013
75 views this year
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip