Skip to main content

Database Searching: EBSCO Databases

A basic guide to get you started searching in Zip Bang!, EBSCO and JSTOR databases.

Basic Searching in EBSCOhost

EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. Please watch the video below to learn how to complete a basic search in an EBSCO database. You can access these by visiting our library webpage, choosing the research tab and then selecting an EBSCO database. You will notice that any database that has the blue E icon beside it is an EBSCO database. 

EBSCO offers a variety of databases that are more subject specific. You can choose one that fits your needs or search many of them at once.

  

Advanced EBSCOhost Searching + Tutorials

If you would like to complete more advanced searches and learn more about the specific EBSCO databases, please follow the relevant links below.

Advanced Searching Tutorial

THEOLOGY

ATLA Tutorial ATLA is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion in major religion and theology journals. Coverage begins in 1949, but with indexing for some journals in the 19th Century. Full text to more than 266,000 articles and book reviews. ATLA is produced by the American Theological Library Association.

NURSING

CINAHL Basic Tutorial This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. Users get access to top nursing and allied health journals (including full text for 1,400 journals), evidence-based care sheets, and quick lessons.

CINAHL Advanced Searching Tutorial


Oklahoma Baptist University
500 West University, Shawnee, OK 74804
800.654.3285 | info@okbu.edu